Return to Headlines

WUHS National Honor Society Impacts the Community

Inactive for several years, we are proud to announce the revival of the Withrow University High School National Honor Society.

The National Honor Society is the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to honor those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, character, and citizenship. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1929.

The chapter is focusing on increasing their visibility within the school and in the community.  For Breast Cancer Awareness Month, the students identified a local organization to support – The Erica J. Holloman Foundation ( named for Erica Holloman, a graduate of Walnut Hills High School, who lost her battle with Triple Negative Breast Cancer in 2011.  The National Honor Society was able to raise $500.00 for the foundation with the help of fellow students and staff.  The students presented the donation to Dr. Holloman’s mother, Mrs. Josie Holloman-Adams, and a foundation board member, Dr. Ebony Griggs-Griffin.

The chapter also volunteered their time in the evening to help the Academy of World Languages with their game night. The members were put in charge of various games for the elementary students. 

As the advisor, Melissa Tucker sees the National Honor Society as a way to teach students about altruism.  It is her hope that she can engage more students at the school in meaningful giving activities.

“Certain schools in CPS get a bad rep because of what’s reported in the media. But great things are happening in our schools. There’s something for everyone as long as you seek it out,” member Aris Boudjema. 

If you know them, please congratulate the 2023-2024 members: Olajumoke Olanrewaju (2024), Harsh Minhas (2025), Aris Boudjema (2025), Fatima Sagna (2025), Kangan Bawa (2024), Queen Johnson (2024), Nikita Minhas (2024), and Oliver Tiani Vessah (2025).  They work very hard inside and outside of the classroom.